History

Located on the site of the former Reader’s Digest headquarters, Chappaqua Crossing is a unique office environment that was shaped by the founders of the famous magazine, Dewitt and Lila Acheson Wallace. Beginning when the couple acquired the property in the late 1930s, the Wallaces set about to create a nurturing and beautiful environment for their rapidly expanding workforce that at its peak totaled several thousand. The original Georgian-style brick building with its signature cupola opened in 1939 and has been a landmark for generations of passing travelers on the Saw Mill Parkway and MetroNorth’s Harlem Line.

Over the ensuing seven decades as Reader’s Digest became the world’s most widely circulated magazine and numerous associated businesses were established under the Digest umbrella, the company expanded its office space to include nearly 700,000 square feet while extensively landscaping the surrounding campus. The Wallaces wanted the Digest to be a part of the greater Chappaqua community and often held local functions, a tradition that has been continued by the new owners.

With the passing of the Wallaces and major changes in the world of print publishing, the Reader’s Digest management made the decision to sell the property and in 2004 it was acquired by Summit/Greenfied Partners. The publisher remained as a tenant in the building for five years. New owners of the business relocated the remaining reduced headquarters operation to Manhattan.

Today, the Wallaces’ legacy and the exceptional setting they created continue with Chappaqua Crossing.